





Graham Bruce finds himself high and dry at the Bus Stop

Kames April Stages

FEENEY WINS DUEL IN THE SUN

While the speedsters had it rough for their opening sprints of the season at Kames, the first rally action of the season one week later was held in glorious sunshine. This helped attract a bumper crowd of spectators to watch a full entry tackle the day's sixteen all-tarmac stages.

Nigel Feeney and Colin Gemmell were neck and neck after two stages, then Colin had a half-spin and lost around 12 seconds, which he was unable to retrieve as Nigel grew more and more confident with the new car as the day progressed. There was an intriguing battle for

third place which went to Derek Connell whose edge over Graham Bruce was attributable to his consistency and his Corsa's nible-

ness in the tight corners. Once again Alex Vassallo (co-driver Neil Colman) made a big impression in winning the junior rally

quite comfortably in his Citroen C1 with the runner-up spot going to Dylan O'Donnell / Tom Middlemiss in their Micra.

Senior Rally:

1. Nigel Feeney / Paula Swinscoe (Impreza) 24:57; 2. Colin Gemmell / Chris Hunter (Impreza) 25:15; 3. Derek Connell / Laura Marshall (Corsa) 25:52; 4. Graham Bruce / Cammy Fair (Evo) 26:04; 5. Neil Thomson / Catherine Robertson (Saxo) 27:30; 6. Lindsay Taylor / Lewis McDougall (Peugeot 205) 27:56; 7. Alex Adams / Harry Marchbank (Micra) 28:24; 8. Stuart McBride / David Connell (Nova) 28:35; 9. Robert Iveson / Les Golding (Peugeot 309) 28.35; Jordan Black / Ewan Leeming (Citroen C2) retired after SS8; lain Stewart / Kyle Livingston (Mini) retired on SS2.

Junior Rally:

Alex Vassallo / Neil Colman (Citroen C1) 26:47; 2. Dylan O'Donnell / Tom Middlemiss (Micra) 27:33; 3. Michael Robertson / Phil Sandham (Toyota Aygo) 28:07; 4. Andy



4. Andy One of the day's best drives came from Derek Connell in a Corsa



Struthers / Andrew Falconer (Micra) 28:43; 5. Brodie Balfour / Ian Nicoll (Aygo) 28:50; 6. Michael Dickie / Martin Forrest (Aygo) 30:26; 7. Harris Wilson / Craig Wallace (Micra) 30:32; 8. Harry Chalmers / Ian MacIvor (Micra) 31:15; 9. Dale Kelly / Peter Weell (Micra) 32:32; 10. Cameron Russell / Martin Murray (Micra) 34:51; Sandy Fairbairn / Colin Reay (Micra) 37:50; Craig MacIvor / Paul Beaton (Micra) retired SS14; Brandon Walsh / Ian McRae (Citroen C1) retired SS8.

Photos by Kevin Brown.

There was a well-earned second place for Colin Gemmell